Monday, January 28, 2019

what a weekend

Seriously thought for a few hours that I had a brain infection - that's how my weekend went.

Woke up Saturday - the day of the annual Gasparilla festival in Tampa - expecting to grade papers and nap through a gloomy day. BUT IT WAS BEAUTIFUL.

My brain couldn't really handle going to Gasparilla, and I had booked fastpasses before realizing when Gasparilla was, so we went to Disney instead.

Welcome to Animal Kingdom.

We brought a picnic of some sandwiches. I ate half of one and a few jellybeans from my mom (who always watches my dog when we're at Disney). We rode the safari, but I was on the inside of the row, and thus did not take a single picture.

We walked up to Nomad Lounge so I could finally try their gluten free churros, and sat for a while next to a group of people trying to get their kids excited about being at Disney while taking pictures. The dad asked if they wanted mac n cheese or pizza for lunch, and the kids started screaming "Mac N Cheese". I lasted about 5 seconds after that, and we walked away, churro-less, to the sweet sounds of children shrieking "MAC N CHEESE" at the top of their lungs.

We drove over to Epcot to get Figment magnets where they had half of the parking lot closed, so we parked way out in carajoland. It's Festival of the Arts time, hence the Figment magnet, so we walked through the world where there were no more than 6 items on the Festival of the Arts menus that were gluten free. I ate nothing and got really crabby. In hindsight, I should have gotten a margarita and some popcorn, but live and learn.

We didn't ride anything, but there was a place where you could take a picture of yourself as Frida which YOU KNOW I DID and it was beyond terrible. THE EYEBROWS DIDN'T LINE UP, SO I HAD THREE EYEBROWS. I berated Dan's photo-taking skills for a good 10 minutes. We have to go back in February so I can get a good Frida picture (and the Frida and Diego margaritas).

Then we picked up our magnets and left and you guys, I don't know the last time I was so grumpy.

We stopped at Lucky's Market before getting my dog - a store we don't have yet in Tampa but I want one so bad because they have TWO DOLLAR BEER/CIDER AND THREE DOLLAR WINE. That you can drink while you shop! The prices weren't great, but they weren't as bad as Whole Foods either. We got a few random things, and their award winning bacon (because why not).

Then we picked up the dog and the rest of this really delicious cake I got for Christmas from Dan's mom out of my parents' freezer (we did not have freezer space for it until now) and drove home. If you have ever been to Orlando, you will understand the FEAT we accomplished on the drive. We got all the way from the last tollbooth on 417 ONTO I-4 WITHOUT STOPPING. Seriously! It was a magical end to the day. Then we got home and I had Maker's and Diet coke and apparently two drinks is too much because I was HUNG. OVER. the next morning.

Sunday the weather was TERRIBLE and I had a lot of grading to do, so I was really grumpy still. I buckled down and it took me three hours to grade ONE assignment for ONE class and I should really go easier on these people but I can't. It's not like it's a regular class where when you finish an assignment you're done with it - I'm grading things like resumes and cover letters and LinkedIn profiles, which students need to be good at in order to find a job in the future. So the stakes are pretty high.

Anyway, once I finished grading I curled up in a ball on the couch and realized I hadn't eaten in 24 hours and that was probably why I was grumpy but my brain didn't totally register that because I sat down and cried for a good hour about how I have a brain infection and I'm dying. Fun times. I ate leftover soup and drank a Diet Coke and felt much better.

We went to Target because I was stir crazy (and actual crazy) and I found one cute shirt on the clearance rack, so it was successful. Dan usually spends Sunday nights with his mom watching tv shows and eating dinner with his parents, so I picked up Chipotle for myself on the drive home. I ate half when Dan decided he wasn't going to his parents house and he wanted to stay with me (probably because I was IN A TIZZY with this brain infection thing), so I gave him the rest and cuddled in on the recliner with my dog to watch Rent. It was great. I love Rent.

And now I'm at work, with lots more to do, writing a blog post. I'll go back and add in photos later maybe (idk how right now???)

No comments:

Post a Comment

November...

was more than a doozy. I have come close to straight up quitting my job on more than one occasion. Was sick twice. The first time I tho...