Monday, December 2, 2019

November...

was more than a doozy.

I have come close to straight up quitting my job on more than one occasion.

Was sick twice. The first time I thought I had strep. The second I was so sick I didn't travel for Thanksgiving.

Work is killing me.

I am deep in a weird depressive state that feels like it isn't getting better and maybe never will.

I just got married. I am supposed to be happy.

I am not happy. I am miserable.

Wednesday, October 30, 2019

2019 Goals Update

1. Blog 3x a week - Nope
2. Learn to bake good bread that I can eat from scratch. - I've stopped baking, and don't think I'll be starting back up for a bit. "Trying to be healthier" is the excuse I'm going to give.
3. Learn about keeping chickens - We learned enough to realize we aren't going to be keeping chickens for a while.
4. Career development -  Workin on it.
5. Stick to a budget, don't just track spending - Eh, we spent some of our own cash on the wedding, which has impacted our budgeting ability. Plus side, we didn't go into debt for the wedding! We have an "official" budget but because we don't do cash envelopes I don't actually know how we're doing with it any given month. We should probably start having budget meetings.
6. Get married - Done!
7. Take more pictures - Starting to realize I'm not a great photo taker. I'm still trying, but it's not super easy. I'm hoping to do December Daily this holiday season.
8. Read more, at least 40 books, preferably over 50 - I changed my Goodreads goal to 52, which was a mistake because I've been inching my way through the 20s since summer. I'd hoped to read more on the honeymoon but nope.
9. Take a class, keep learning - No real progress on this still, but looking at classes to start in the new year.
10. Lose 20 pounds - Post-wedding I'm back on WW and lost a few pounds the first week.
11. Plan a fun trip - Done! We had a great honeymoon and have a trip planned for next year. We did book Yellowstone but plan to cancel it soon due to work stuff. We'll be on a cruise again next fall and maybe something else during the summer, with several small camping trips this fall/winter.
12. Eat something I've grown in the garden - We've done so much of this! Success!

Saturday, July 6, 2019

Meal Planning

Dan and I had a conversation this morning about meals. I've always struggled with meal planning. My idea of meal planning was basically just having the same meal every day for a week - typically rice and beans or some sort of a salad. Dan doesn't plan meals - he always wants meat and potatoes. Basically nothing remotely "healthy" - typical man.

As always, I am trying to do better with my eating and meal planning. We also have *tons* of cookbooks - that I almost never use. Starting this week I am planning our weekly meals in advance, and using the (countless) cookbooks I own to help with it. Here is our plan for this week:

Sunday 7/7 - Leftovers
Dan eats dinner with his mom and they watch a TV show I've never seen, so he'll be there and I'll eat leftovers

Monday 7/8 - Garlic-dijon roasted pork tenderloin with potatoes and green beans
Skinnytaste One and Done Cookbook

Tuesday 7/9 - Chipotle
Tuesdays are our busy night. Dan picks up Chipotle and has it waiting for me when I get home

Wednesday 7/10 - Petite meatloaf dinner
Skinnytaste One and Done Cookbook

Thursday 7/11 - Grilled lemon-chile shrimp summer salad
Skinnytaste One and Done Cookbook (can you tell which cookbook I grabbed first?)

Friday 7/12 - Italian Pasta Salad
In the Kitchen with David

Saturday 7/13 - Out of town

Sunday 7/13 - Out of town


Friday, July 5, 2019

Flow State

Why is getting into a "flow state" at work good, but getting into a "flow state" at almost anything else bad?

For example, if you were in a state of flow with MarioKart, people might say you are addicted to video games.

But... if you are in a "flow state" everyday at work you are doing a great job. Other people need to work as hard as you do!

Train of thought brought to you by the Age of Addiction.

Monday, April 29, 2019

Monday Musings - 4.29

  1. Early rising - This has actually been going pretty well! My alarm goes off at either 6:00 or 6:15 depending on when I go to bed, and I've been out of bed and doing things I want to do between 6:15-6:30 every day. No, I don't just hop right up out of bed (yet), but I'm working on it. I think it's making me more productive at work, too, because I start the day off "productive", even if I'm not doing "real work"
  2. Planner - I did get the .5 year Stalogy A5 in the mail, but I'm not using it yet. Because of my serious lack of daily planning on the weekends, I could probably go ahead and start using it, but I am enjoying a 2-book system right now and don't want to throw it off with a spot for just daily planning. I need daily, weekly, and monthly views and right now (only 3 days left with students) I don't want to try to throw that off.
  3. Semester - I am not as far along with grading as I'd have liked (thanks, my first completely free weekend in a month), but I am not behind! I graded a few assignments that were turned in on Friday, but I didn't grade most of them. I get to spend today listening to a bunch of voiceover powerpoint presentations.


Thursday, April 25, 2019

Rising Early

I am by no means an early riser. Like, my dream job includes me getting to sleep in until 7:30 (and also maybe nap during the day). We also don't have kids yet, which means when I wake up is 100% in my control! But when my alarm goes off, all I want to do is lie in bed and relax. Yet somehow I decided I want to become an early riser, to have more time in the morning to get things done that I actually want to do. Therefore, cleaning should not be on the "early rise" list.

Granted, I don't have much "chill" time in my schedule, and it's usually at night (when I'm too tired to realize I'm "relaxing" by watching tv). If I'm going to keep waking up early, I'd like for it to be something I can look forward to. Right now, that basically just includes writing a blog post, but maybe once we get some exercise equipment it can include an hour on the elliptical or something. Not that I'd really look forward to the elliptical, but it's something.

Some ideas I've had for things to work on in the mornings include:

  • writing (not just on the blog, but maybe a book too?)
  • exercise (see, I do need that elliptical!)
  • meditation (I really need to chill)
  • reading (who doesn't love books?)
  • applying for jobs (until I find a new one)

I like to work on habits and routines in the summer because I have more free time. I'm never at work late and everything can still get done, which frees up my mental energy to other things in my life.

I think tonight before bed I will create a plan for my "early rise" tomorrow morning. Early risers - do you wake up early 7 days a week? Or sleep in on weekends? I think I will need a break - at least on Saturdays - but we'll see.

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

What's Annoying Me Right Now

So far time tracking is going okay and I am finally learning how to use my EC in a way that works for me (just in time for the Stalogy to arrive today), but that's not the focus of today's post.  I am focusing on my annoyances today instead of the other stuff.


  1. Work. More specifically, the people there. I just can't wrap my head around how these people got into these jobs, how they determine their priorities, and why I am lumping myself in with them. My pulse is going up just thinking about it.
  2. Waking up early sucks. I am not really a morning person, but especially so when I don't go to sleep until 11 at night. The first few days of 7 hours of sleep worked for me, but I don't think that sleep debt will be able to keep working.
  3. Since I got more specific about the first work, this one can be work but OMG IT'S THE END OF THE SEMESTER. I am glad I am mostly caught up but it's still such. a. pain. Would I like it more if the rest of my job didn't exist? Probably. Would I like my job if the teaching part didn't exist? Probably.
  4. I registered for the wrong hunter safety course and now have to complete an online class before next Saturday.
  5. I am not reading as much as I should be and all of my library books are straight up TAUNTING me.

Monday, April 22, 2019

Monday Musings


  1. I am behind on these posts. Sorry I have been neglectful! I've been traveling and it's the end of the semester which combine to create a CRAZY time for me. I just wrapped up the Seattle/Vancouver trip posts, but I still have Chicago to post and now our Good Friday cruise. And in two weeks I'll be in Kansas City! None of those will be as long because the trips are shorter, but I still want to post the pictures!
  2. I ordered a new (second) planner. The Erin Condren is just not cutting it by itself - I think I need daily pages, but I can't convince myself to shell out for a Hobonichi when the April start date isn't available on Amazon or Jet Pens. I think I will probably use both to cover all of my bases - daily, weekly, and monthly pages - and I hope it will help me reorganize my thoughts before school starts back up in August.
  3. The drive to work is still killing me, but today I have an off-site meeting at 9:30 so I get to go in a little bit later than usual! I am trying to look on the bright side. I think the cruise and forced time away helped.
  4. The semester is almost over, which means I am behind on grading - per usual. I should be able to get caught up in the next two days though!
  5. I just got asked to go to something on Thursday for guidance counselors and I am saying no. If I wasn't so busy, I'd make time for it - but my work priorities right now include getting caught up on emails and grading. Not that helping admissions isn't a priority, but everything can't be a priority. If everything is a priority, nothing is a priority.
  6. I may try time tracking this week. I could start next week (once I have my paper daily planner), but why wait when you can start now?

Vancouver Part 2

Our first full day in Vancouver started off perfectly - I woke up without an alarm and looked across the street at the gorgeous B.C. Place arena, then looked down and saw it appeared to have snowed.


Naturally, I had curling on the TV. When in Canada...


After eating breakfast at the hotel, we walked over to the Rogers Arena again, but this time for a behind-the-scenes tour. At that point, I said I have never been so cold in my life (don't worry - I have been colder now, 1.5 months later). Once we got to our meeting place way too early we huddled for warmth and I took pictures. Here's our view of the Telus World of Science.


As I took pictures, it began to snow! I realize now you can barely see the snow in y hair in this photo, but man I was excited. It's been five years since I've seen snow.


Most of our students hadn't even seen snow before, so getting to see snow in CANADA was really exciting for them. And me - I am not going to lie. I even took this terrible picture like "HEY YOU CAN SEE IT'S SNOWING IN THE BACKGROUND!"


Eventually we made it inside to the warmth and did not miss the snow. Despite having been there just the night before, it was still so cool to see the huge arena and learn all of the little things we would've missed just one night prior.


This picture shows just how tall the arena is - but what you can't see is that there are club seats going all the way up tow here it starts to arch. Insane.


Also, Rogers Arena is where the best/worst hockey game of all time took place - the 2010 Olympic Men's Final, Canada vs. the USA. They had really cool displays throughout the concourse, which I always enjoy seeing.


We also got a tour of all of the suites.


One of them has a wine room. The guy told us there is a $10,000 bottle of wine in there. If someone wanted to drink it, they'd have to consume the whole bottle in 35 minutes before it oxidizes because it's so old. 


There were two of these restaurant-type club sections, where you get a fancy dinner then have your regular club seats for during the game. The lights hanging were in the shape of hockey pucks and sticks.


After the arena tour, we walked back and stopped by the BC Sports Hall of Fame just so everyone could get this picture taken.


We had lunch at Tim Hortons and rested for a few minutes before setting off on our next adventure - to the Granville Public Market. Those of us who wanted to go had the hotel shuttle drop us off across the street from the bridge, where we could walk over and get a scenic view of the river and area.


It took longer than expected thanks to a few google maps mishaps (nothing major, just irritating), but the view was incredible.


You do have to double back and it doesn't look like you're going to the right place, but once we saw the sign we knew we had made it.


The Granville Island area had lots of cute shops, but everything was crazy expensive, so I bought nothing. We got some pretty pictures though!


The group met me and the other chaperone at a bar where we were getting drinks (a delicious cider for me, beer flights for basically everyone else). One plus of taking college students to Canada - everyone can drink legally. 

The weather eventually turned into a cold, rainy, and foggy night. We took a ferry back to near the hotel and walked back in POURING rain. But you can't tell that from this picture. This picture just looks like the Canada movie at Epcot.


In spite of being freezing cold and soaking wet, we had a delightful dinner at an Italian restaurant in a nearby hotel. Part of the group wanted sushi, so they split off and had dinner on their own. We went back to the hotel and I immediately changed out of my pants that were still dripping - only to find out the dye had left black marks all over my legs. Fortunately the dye came right off, but I think it might have messed up a washcloth at the hotel permanently.

Another relaxing morning the next day included a 10:00 tour of the CBC Vancouver office, where we got to see how they shoot news and what it's like to be in a working newsroom.



We even stumbled into a recording studio (pictured below) for their radio shows, and heard one of their radio personalities record promos for the following week's shows.


Of course, this was not enough for us to do on our last day - so almost all of us went to the Capilano Suspension Bridge. There is a free shuttle that runs from downtown if you either have your tickets already or are willing to buy them direct at the gate.


It was a scenic ~20 minute drive that took us across Vancouver, through a park, and into the mountains.


And man, it was beautiful.


There was still snow on the ground (in the shade), so I had some fun crunching the snow. I told you it's been five years since I had seen it!


One thing I think Canada does very well is paying attention and showing reverence for the native peoples from the area. These are just some of the totem poles we saw on the trip, but they were gorgeous.


The bridge was in a gorgeous setting. Some people were being idiots (there are always a few) running, jumping, and trying to get the bridge to sway, but by and large it was neat. I was ready to be on the other side of the bridge though!


The view was gorgeous from the bridge - we really couldn't have had better weather on almost the entire trip.




Once you get to the other side of the bridge, there are lots of walking trails and treetop trails where you see tons of Canada's wilderness.



It was such a cool experience - I would absolutely do it again if I were to go back to Vancouver.



When you are on the side with the gift shop, there is another experience called the Cliff Walk. I was not sure about this one - honestly I found it scarier than the bridge! For comparison:

Image result for capistrano suspension bridge vs. Image result for capistrano suspension bridge

The suspension bridge has been around since the 1800s and only two people have died. Probably from doing something stupid. The cliff walk is too new! I didn't trust it! But I did it anyway. It was really cool.


We wrapped up the day at the gift shop where I bought the most delicious maple fudge known to man. Seriously. Do yourself a favor and pick some up if you are in the area.

We took the shuttle back downtown but got off in an area closer to shopping.


We shopped for a few hours before returning to have dinner at the hotel. The students bought so much touristy stuff - I stuck with a Roots Canada hoodie. Do actual Canadians wear Roots or only tourists and Olympians? Anyway... our hotel restaurant/bar is where I met one of the drunkest people I've ever met before - but she was very polite and bought all of us Picklebacks (which I'd never heard of). We walked back over to Canada Place so I could get a picture of the iconic sails from the Epcot Canada movie.



And then walked about 5 minutes to see this:


It's the 2010 Olympic Cauldron! It was so impressive in person. Absolutely enormous. If I had a picture of just me there, I would share... but I do not. We walked back to the hotel to pack up and get ready for our travel day on Saturday, which wound up much longer than expected. 

When I was sitting at breakfast, I figured I should check on our flight information. Our layover in Salt Lake City was only supposed to be about 30 minutes long, but the Delta app was showing 6 hours. We called our travel agent to see what was going on, and she told us it was bad weather in the area and there were no earlier flights. Okay. We can deal with that. The downside was that it meant we arrived back early Sunday (like before 6 am) instead of Saturday night. But it's a weather delay - nothing you can do about it.

A few airport shuttles came to get the full group. It was pretty busy, as there was a huge rugby tournament at the arena across from our hotel.



Once we arrived at the airport, we asked someone about the bad weather delays. Turns out, it wasn't a bad weather delay. Our flight changed in December and the travel agent didn't notice it at all. Had we not realized it ourselves, nobody would have known until we got to the SLC airport.

All things considered, if you have to spend a few hours in an airport, there are worse airports. Here are some pictures just out the airport windows (from our ~30 minute walk around the entire thing).




There was a good bar that we spent some time at while the students worked on midterms and research papers. We had dinner at Cafe Rio (which I know of from the Mormon Youtubers I follow) and relaxed in the airport. 

Our newly overnight flight allowed me to get approximately 15 minutes of sleep. Instead I tried to doze while watching The Favourite.


Of course, because I did not sleep on the plane I felt sick for a week afterwards. All in all it was a good trip. Students are already asking if we can go back to Seattle and Vancouver next year, so I think we will be going again. Maybe with fewer students next time.

Friday, April 5, 2019

Seattle, part 2 and Vancouver, part 1

I have access to my pictures, so these should be faster now right?

Picking back up on Day 3, our first day of corporate visits! We started out the morning with a long ride in an Uber up to Boeing's facility in Mukilteo, WA. We were actually going to take four cabs, but the first cab arrived, then the next two came shortly after, and I was sitting there with two students waiting on the third cab for 30 minutes. Nobody ever came, so I called an Uber and had the school reimburse me.

Because we were running so late, we headed straight in to the tour. Boeing makes you put your phones and bags and everything into storage lockers in the building where the tours leave from, but they never actually check to see if anyone has their phone with them. I guess if they see you with your phone they take it away, but I thought it was weird. Hence, no photos from inside the Boeing facility. It was really cool though, I promise.

Once we finished our tour (no, we didn't see any 737-MAX 8's) we headed back to the main building where I got this picture (in which you can kinda see Mount Rainier).


More pictures from the top of Boeing:



It was beautiful! We honestly could not have asked for better weather. The students spent a lot of time in the Boeing gift shop where I wanted to buy Dan a model plane but elected not to (it was $20 for one that was smaller than my pinky finger). One of them even bought a winter jacket that was on clearance! There were good deals to be had, but none of them were things I was looking for.

On our way to Microsoft (also outside of Seattle proper) we stopped at a Red Robin in Bellevue and ate burgers. The kids loved it. I always love Red Robin.


We walked forever and a year to get to the Microsoft HQ, which had the lamest tour ever. Basically it was a tour of their store. We will not be doing this again, even though there was a really cool AR headset I tried out (not me pictured below).


We taxi-ed and Ubered back to our hotel. We had a reservation at the Yard House that night (yes, I know it's a chain. It was still delightful) so we elected to take the MONORAIL!



I felt like I was celebrating Frasier Crane Day. 


Like I said, we went to the Yard House where I had a DELICIOUS salad. One of the best.


At the Yard House I asked if they had any local whiskeys (because y'all that's who I am). They did not, but we got a glowing recommendation for a bar - The Whisk(e)y Bar - from our waitress who was extremely helpful. We went and it was INCREDIBLE.


I may or may not have tried all of their local whiskey brands (not every variety - I was working guys). We only had a couple of students over 21 so this wasn't a full group activity, but man did we have fun. I took a student home in an Uber around 12:30, and the other chaperone stayed with the other student there, but apparently they did not get back until around 4:00 am.

The next morning, not everyone was up to activities (naturally), but I went with a group of students back to the Roastery. I got the same drink (some sort of hazelnut latte, if you're ever there) a second time, but this time I got it iced. I so much prefer iced drinks, this was a great change of pace. 


We met up with everyone for lunch near the Space Needle, and I got a salad at Subway (continuing my streak of eating safe places that weren't really exciting). 

I realize now I missed a meal we ate at Blue Water Taco Grill, which I highly recommend.

We walked from the Space Needle over to Holland America Cruise Lines' HQ for a tour and information session. They took us out on their beautiful rooftop deck and I wished I worked for them and could go outside here every day.



It was a great time. We went back downtown for a meal at Elephant and Castle Pub, which was also so good. On the way back, we stopped by the Amazon Go store where I picked up breakfast for the next day and a cute reusable bag.


We were up early on Wednesday for our train ride to Vancouver. I haven't been on a real train (except the ones at Disney) for over 10 years, so I didn't really remember much about riding on a train. We had SO MUCH LEG ROOM. I was amazed. The wifi was horrible, but I still took some cute pictures.


They don't call her Nessie, but it sure looks like Nessie to me!


The views were incredible. We saw so many cute dogs on the beach, too.

The train ride from Seattle to Vancouver was around 4 hours. We walked from the train station to our hotel, which led to lots of students complaining about the "long" (less than half a mile) walk. We took everyone across the street to a delicious pizza restaurant (we literally ate there twice this day) and soothed everyone's worries with food.

By the time we got into our hotel, all was forgotten. The view from my room of WHERE THE OLYMPICS WERE PLAYED.


We didn't have much time to rest, since Wednesday night we went to the Canucks/Maple Leafs game at Rogers Arena. This was incredible. Hockey is so much fun, even if your tickets are miserable.


The arena had these awesome sippy cup lids that I wish were everywhere.


We met the mascot, AN ORCA!


And had a generally fabulous time. The Canucks won (woohoo!) and I got a hat which I am still wearing.


Up next, a tour of Rogers Arena, the Capilano Suspension Bridge, and our insanely delayed travel day.

November...

was more than a doozy. I have come close to straight up quitting my job on more than one occasion. Was sick twice. The first time I tho...